Vol. 13, No. 8

As a benefit of your ASSE membership, Society Update highlights the latest Society news, activities, upcoming events and notable member achievements. Members are encouraged to submit news, announcements, questions or comments to Cathy Wegener.

Upcoming Events
August 2
Math Review
August 3-5
ASP Workshop
August 3-5
Corporate Safety Management
August 6-8
CSP Workshop
August 12
Webinar: Researching Predictive Analytics and Jobsite Safety: Key Findings
August 16
Math Review
August 17-19
ASP Workshop
August 20-22
CSP Workshop
August 26
Webinar: Risk Assessment and Hazard Control - Systems Safety and Process Safety

ASSE Election Nominations Deadline

The deadline for 2010 ASSE nominations is Aug. 15. The Society will be electing the senior vice president, vice president-finance, vice president-practices and standards, all even-numbered region vice presidents and select area directors. Members who wish to be considered for region vice president or area director must contact their regional nominations committee.

Did You Miss Safety 2009?

Eleven sessions from Safety 2009 will be available as webcast recordings. These webcasts include access to the slides, speaker audio and any videos that were part of the presentations. If you purchase all 11 sessions, you will be able to earn 1.0 CEU. For more information, contact Dan McNeill. In addition, audio recordings for most of the sessions are now available for purchase and download from Audio Visual Education Network.

Sponsor a New Member

Recruiting new ASSE members is a beneficial way to network and strengthen your professional association. Recruit new members by giving them an application or by having them apply online directly. Remember to ask your new recruits to enter your name in the sponsor blank to receive credit as the sponsor.

2008-09 President's Award Winners

Daniel E. Della-Giustina, Ph.D., CHCM, professor, Industrial and Management Systems Engineering, West Virginia University. A professional member of the Northern West Virginia Chapter, Della-Giustina was honored for his great support of student members at West Virginia University. He has also played a role in helping thousands of students graduate from the university’s safety-related programs, including many at the Ph.D. level.
Ashok Garlapati, CSP, QEP, G-IOSH, HSE specialist, Exploration and Production Development Directorate, Kuwait Oil Co. Garlapati, a professional member of the Kuwait Chapter, was recognized for helping to advance ASSE’s global outreach through his involvement in and many activities on behalf of the Kuwait Chapter and the International Practice Specialty.
David G. Kraemer, Ph.D., professor and chair, Department of Occupational Safety and Health, Murray State University. A professional member of the Purchase Area Chapter, Kraemer was honored for his outstanding work with students and members of the ASSE student section at Murray State University. In addition, he has been active with the ASSE Foundation and the student scholarship program.
James D. Smith, M.S., CSP, managing director, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co. While serving as Vice President of Finance during the last year, Smith was instrumental in communicating ASSE’s financial performance, and he made significant contributions to the Finance Committee. Smith is a professional member of the Gold Coast Chapter.
Kenneth W. Wengert, CSP, ARM, director safety and environmental, Kraft Foods. A professional member of the Northeastern Illinois Chapter, Wengert has served on many ASSE committees, bringing his real-world focus and perspective to each. He has been involved with the Strategic Planning Committee, the Business of Safety Committee, the Leadership Task Force and the Tellers Committee, among others.
Michael G. Behm, Ph.D., CSP, assistant professor, Department of Technology Systems, East Carolina University. Behm was recognized for his lead role in putting virtual tools into action at East Carolina University and with the Eastern Carolina Chapter, of which he is a professional member. He continues to mentor and encourage others to embrace these technologies as well.
Linda M. Tapp, CSP, ALCM, president, SafetyFUNdamentals; president, Crown Safety LLC. Tapp was honored for her role as chair of the task force that developed ASSE’s first-ever virtual symposium. People from around the world participated in this cutting-edge continuing education event—all from their desktops. Tapp is a professional member of the Penn-Jersey Chapter.