Vol. 10, No. 6

Gary Erisman, Ph.D., CSP

Gary Erisman, of Stanford, IL, was nominated for educating and motivating the next generation of occupational safety and health professionals as an assistant professor at Illinois State University. In addition to countless hours of classroom instruction, Erisman has been instrumental in shaping ASSE’s strategy to recruit, retain and motivate student leaders as a key member of the National Future Safety Leadership Conference Task Force.

E. Rush Barnett, CSP, CIH

Rush Barnett, of Hanover, MD, served as chair of the Society’s Admissions Committee for more than 10 years, and he continues to contribute his time and expertise. During his tenure, Barnett formed the Professional Membership Task Force and the International Membership Task Force. He has also been active at the chapter level, having served as the Chapter Foundation Chair for the Chesapeake Chapter for more than 10 years.

Warren K. Brown, CSP, ARM, CSHM

Warren Brown, of Moraine, OH,was nominatedfor his efforts to deliver high-quality professional development programs to ASSE members. Brown is a professional member of the Kitty Hawk Chapter, where he has held various leadership positions. He served as Vice President of ASSE’s Council on Professional Development (2001-05) and as Region VII Vice President (1989-93 and 1997-2001). He was recently elected to serve as 2006-07 ASSE Senior Vice President.


Michael E. Neason

Michael Neason, of Louisville, KY, was recognized for his work as chair of the ASSE Mining Task Force: Emergency Response and Communication in Mining. In this capacity, he testified on behalf of ASSE to the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions regarding the state of mine safety and health last March. Neason is Administrator of ASSE’s Mining Practice Specialty.

Richard C. Nugent, CSP

Richard Nugent, of Republic of Marshall Islands, ID, was ASSE’s Vice President of Finance for ASSE (2002-06). He chairs the Finance Committee and oversees the financial activities of the Society. Nugent is directly involved in the budgeting process and strategic planning. He was also the Administrator of the Management Practice Specialty.

E.L. “Brownie” Petersen, CSHM

Brownie Petersen, of Brigham City, UT, is the Administrator of the Management Practice Specialty. He also serves as Vice Chair of the Council on Practices and Standards (CoPS). He has been Chair of the CoPS Awards and Honors Committee. In addition, Petersen is cochair of the Management Practice Specialty Executive Committee. He also served as the chair of the task force created to review and identify synergies between CoPS and the Council on Member and Region Affairs.


Kathy Seabrook, CSP, RSP

Kathy Seabrook, of Walton-on-Thames, U.K., served as chair of the International Membership Task Force in 2005. Seabrook also served on the Academics Practice Specialty Advisory Committee, International Practice Specialty Advisory Committee, Compensation Committee and Council on Practices and Standards. Seabrook is a regular speaker at SeminarFest, ASSE’s annual PDC, and pre- and post-conference seminars on international safety and health topics.

John Spath, CSP

John Spath, of New York, has been a professional member of the Society since 1977 and is a member of the Council on Professional Development and the Public Relations Committee. He is a former Deputy Region Vice President (Region VIII) and New England Area Director. This year, Spath chaired the task force responsible for ASSE’s management symposium, Excellence in Safety Leadership.