Click Here to Access the Society Update Archive

Vol. 8, No. 3

July 2004

Welcome to the new Society Update. ASSE's e-newsletter provides the latest Society news, activities, upcoming events and notable member achievements.

Top Stories

Roger Brauer Named ASSE Fellow
Roger E. Brauer, Ph.D., P.E., CSP , executive director of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals, is the Society's 103 rd Fellow. The Fellow is the highest honor that a professional member of ASSE can receive. It reflects peer recognition of lifelong excellence in the field of safety, honors dedication to advancing the SH&E profession and acknowledges significant contributions to the Society. In accepting the honor, Brauer reflected on his opportunities to contribute to safety, concluding, "Is this a great profession or what?"

ASSE Honors Safety Professional & Safety Educator of the Year

During ceremonies at ASSE's Safety 2004 Professional Development Conference, James D. Smith, M.S., CSP, received the Edgar Monsanto Queeny Safety Professional of the Year (SPY) Award, and Paul G. Specht, Ph.D., CSP, received the William E. Tarrants Outstanding Safety Educator of the Year Award. The SPY Award recognizes a member who has been a leader in establishing and maintaining Society programs. The Educator of the Year Award honors high-quality teaching; SH&E research and publication activity; support of ASSE student sections; and university contributions. Smith is director of risk control services for Arthur J. Gallagher in Boca Raton/Miami, FL. Specht is a professor of occupational safety and environmental health at Millersville (PA) University.

Culbertson Award: Volunteer Leaders Recognized for Contributions to Society

Nine ASSE members were recognized for their outstanding volunteer efforts for ASSE and the SH&E profession. Receiving the Charles V. Culbertson Award in 2004 were: Judy L. Freeman ; Darryl C. Hill, CSP ; Jack B. Hirschman Jr. ; Donald S. Jones Sr., P.E., CSP, MBA ; Mary Ann Latko, CSP, CIH ; Michael A. Messner, CSP, CFPS, CSHM ; Frederick A. Miller, CSP ; Richard F. Moscato, CSP ; and Diana M. Pressman, CSP, ARM, CPCU, ALCM .

ASSE Regions & Practice Specialties Name Safety Professionals of the Year

Each of ASSE's eight regions and 11 of the Society's 13 practice specialties named safety professionals of the year. These individuals were honored during award ceremonies at ASSE's Safety 2004 PDC in Las Vegas, NV.

Skipper Kendrick Presents Five President's Awards

ASSE 2003-04 President Skipper Kendrick recognized three individuals whose service positively impacted the Society and its mission during his term as president. He recognized Hussain Tadayon , chief executive of Bahrain Petroleum Co.; John Henshaw , Assistant Secretary of Labor for OSH; and Rick Pollock, CSP , President, Comprehensive Loss Management Inc. and chair of ASSE's PDC Planning Committee. Kendrick also acknowledged the support and contributions of two groups: the EHS staff at Bell Helicopter , where Kendrick is manager of industrial safety and hygiene; and ASSE staff.

Murray State Named ASSE's Top Student Section

The ASSE Student Section at Murray (KY) State University (MSU) has received the 2004 Outstanding Student Section Award. The award, cosponsored by ASSE and Mine Safety Appliances Co., recognizes the student section that develops community, campus and research activities which promote safety and health. Among its many activities, the MSU Student Section hosted its fourth annual 2004 Choices event and sponsored a Student Mentor Day.

Riley Bechtel Named Honorary Member, Participates in Executive Summit
Riley Bechtel , chair and CEO of Bechtel Group Inc., accepted an honorary ASSE membership from ASSE President Skipper Kendrick during Safety 2004 in Las Vegas, NV. Following the award presentation, Bechtel participated in the Society's first-ever Executive Summit, which brought together four corporate leaders to share their views on the business impact of safety, maintaining a safety culture and building visibility for the contributions of SH&E professionals.

Professional Paper Awards Recognize Best Professional Safety Articles

Three authors received Professional Paper Awards for articles published in Professional Safety , ASSE's monthly journal. First-place recipient Joel M. Haight, Ph.D., P.E., CSP, CIH , wrote "Human Error and the Challenges of an Aging Workforce (December 2003). Second-place recipient Joseph L. McKillips penned "Fleet Safety: Protecting Drivers and the Bottom Line" (October 2003). Third-place recipient Kenneth E. Ryan, CSP , authored "Product Liability Risk Control: Seven Keys to Success" (February 2003). Each author received a commemorative plaque and honorarium.

More News

ASSE Launches Nexsteps Career Site
ASSE officially unveiled its new career website- Nexsteps -during Safety 2004 in Las Vegas, NV. The interactive site is open to all jobseekers and employers. Jobseekers can post a resume, search jobs and sign up for e-mail notification when new jobs are posted. Employers can post openings and search resumes. The site replaces the Jobline service previously available only through the Members Only section of the ASSE website.

NAOSH Week Continues to Grow

North American Occupational Safety and Health (NAOSH) Week was again a huge success for ASSE and the Canadian Society of Safety Engineering. NAOSH Week 2004 kicked off with a news conference at Chicago's Museum of Science and Industry, home to the Old Ben #17 coal mine exhibit, the museum's oldest and most popular exhibit. Other activities included participation by members of ASSE's Greater Detroit Chapter in the " Give 'em a Brake" coalition reception, which featured the National Work Zone Memorial; the second annual NAOSH Week Kids Poster Contest; and proclamations from three states and four cities.

New Section Formed in Ecuador
ASSE has formed an Ecuador Section to provide SH&E professionals in that country with expanded educational opportunities and access to an international network of SH&E professionals.

Member News

Member Notes
Emory Knowles, CSP, CIH , appointed to National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health (NACOSH). Marcy Thompson, CSP, RN, COHN-S , appointed to Rhode Island Mercury Commission. Jim Burtner, CSP, CHCM , joins Michigan Construction Industry Mutual as loss prevention consultant. Five ASSE members appointed to OSHA's Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health (ACCSH).

Top Recruiters: Honor Roll

The latest additions to ASSE's Honor Roll.

In Memoriam

The Society remembers those members who passed away in recent months.

Long-Service Recognition

Members recognized for 25, 40 and 50 years of service to ASSE.

Correction - April 2004
A story in the April 2004 issue of Society Update ("Tapp Named to List of Top 40 Professionals Under Age 40," pg. 4) incorrectly named Linda Tapp's chapter affiliation. Tapp is a professional member of the Penn-Jersey Chapter, not the Philadelphia Chapter as stated. Society Update regrets the error.


Email Opt-Out Option: If you no longer wish to receive emails from ASSE, please notify - or, contact ASSE Customer Service at 847-699-2929. American Society of Safety Engineers, 1800 East Oakton, Des Plaines, IL 60018.