Tom Cecich, CSP, CIH
Apex, North Carolina

Gene Barfield, CSP
Lafayette, Louisiana


Donald Garman, CSP
Fairport, New York


Kevin Berg
Frederick, Maryland


William H. Propes
Carrollton, Texas


Keith D. Robinson, CSP, CHMM
High Point, North Carolina


Diana Stegall, CSP, ARM, CPCU, ALCM
Plymouth, Minnesota



R. Ronald Sokol, CSP
Texas City, Texas

David L. Heidorn, JD

Manager of Government Affairs


The Government Affairs Committee advances the profession by representing ASSE members' interests in the legislative and regulatory process, both at the federal and state levels.

The Educational Standards Committee is responsible for advancing a progressive, realistic and comprehensive safety post secondary education accreditation effort, which is vital to the advancement of the profession. It also conducts training programs for accreditation site visit teams and provides assistance to colleges and universities interested in developing safety degree programs. The establishment of terminal degree programs in safety is also a current concern.

The Technical and Professional Recognition Committee investigates and recommends ASSE action on Society awards. The Committee is responsible for evaluating all petitions for the Society Honor of Fellow, ASSE's highest award, and for recommending to ASSE's Board of Directors those who qualify. The Committee also evaluates all petitions for the National Safety Professional of the Year and Safety Educator of the Year Award.

Click here to go back