Educational Standards Committee

Educational Standards Committee Mission

The Educational Standards Committee is responsible for designing and monitoring programs that will increase the pursuit of higher education in the field of occupational safety and health. Towards that end, the committee dedicates their time and expertise towards finding innovative ways to expand terminal degree programs in safety, cultivate opportunities for safety-related research, and advance a progressive, realistic and comprehensive safety post secondary education accreditation effort. The committee also conducts training programs for accreditation site visit teams and provides assistance to colleges and universities interested in developing safety degree programs.

Educational Standards Committee


Jim Ramsay
Homeland Security Program Coordinator
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

leigh_annAcademic Practice Specialty Administrator

Leigh Ann Blunt
Chair of Safety Sciences
University of Central Missouri


Hamid Fonooni
Ergonomics Program Administrator
University of California-Davis


Elbert Sorrell
Director Risk Control Center
University of Wisconsin-Stout


Wayne Hartz
Associate Professor
Keene State College


Todd Loushine
Assistant Professor
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

marcham1aBCSP Liaison

Cheryl Marcham
Environmental Health and Safety Officer
OU Health Services Center


Charles McGlothlin
Program Director, Occupational Safety and Health
Oakland University

Tom Bresnahan
Principal Associate
Bresnahan Consulting


Darryl C. Hill, Ph.D., CSP
Director, EHS Governance & Product Stewardship
Abbott Laboratories
Employer Representative, ex officio



Contact Us

Customer Service (M-F 8:30am - 5:00pm)
+1 847 699.2929

American Society of Safety Engineers
520 N. Northwest Hwy
Park Ridge, IL 60068