The Construction Practice Specialty (CPS) focuses on all aspects of construction safety and is intended to provide industry-specific information and focused networking opportunities to ASSE members. Some popular topics include jobsite safety, LEED, crane safety, communicating to a diverse workforce and contractor relations.


Please join us for our free bi-monthly Open Web Meeting.
Friday, February 16, 2018 (60 minutes)
1:30 pm EST; 12:30 pm CST; 11:30 am MST; 10:30 am PST
I.             Update on current CPSs’ Events/Goals – Rick Zellen, Administrator
II.            ClickSafety, the CPSs’ Corporate Sponsor, topic is Mining in Construction.  Topics include:

  • OSHA & MSHA jurisdictions
  • Training requirements for MSHA Part 46
  • Incident & quarterly reporting
  • Workplace exams

III.           Q & A Session will follow
Guest Speakers from our sponsor ClickSafety:  Pete Rice, CSP, CIH and Michael C. Herges, CSP, MPH

ASSE Members, join today for just $20!

  • Network via social media, conference calls and annual meetings
  • Connect with top industry professionals
  • Access digital technical publications
  • Request advisory committee guidance and advice
  • Review conference speaking proposals
  • Share or seek knowledge through mentoring services
  • Enhance your resume through volunteer opportunities
  • Publish your knowledge to earn recertification points

Sample Article

Crane Safety Preventing Electrocutions From Contact With Overhead Power Lines
Contact with overhead power lines continues to be the most common cause of crane-related fatalities. Overhead power lines should be identified before any equipment arrives on site by conducting an assessment inside the work zone.


Volunteer Advisory Committee
Administrator: Rick Zellen
Assistant Administrator: Shawn King
Content Coordinator: Josh Caudill
Executive Secretary: Omar Jackson
Membership Chair: Skyler Williard
Awards & Honors Chair: Jerry Shupe
Professional Development Chair: Rick Zellen
Industry Research Chair & Student Liaison: Josh Scott
Social Media: Anastasia Urbanik
Corporate Sponsor Member: Paul Colangelo, ClickSafety
Liaison to SPALW: Jerry Rivera
Technical Question Coordinator: Brian Fennell
Government Affairs and Standards Chair: Ron Sokol
Nominations and Elections Chair: Jerry Shupe
Member-at-Large: Carl Heinlein
Member-at-Large: Corey Jones
Member-at-Large: Elizabeth Rodgers
Member-at-Large: Mac Legault
Member-at-Large: Neil Webste

Other Technical Resources

Sponsored by:

For ASSE Members:
Login into your ASSE profile to Add desired practice specialties, branches and/or common interest groups with to your shopping cart and check out.

For Non-Members:
Join ASSE and your desired practice specialties, branches and/or common interest groups at the same time.

Member Resources

Members Portal

Get Published Jobs


Interact With Us

American Society of Safety Engineers | (M-F 8:30am - 5:00pm) 847-699-2929