Bookmark and Share

ASSE Presents Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service to Professionals from CA, CO, MO, NY, TX and the Netherlands

Posted in on Wed, Jul 7, 2010

Des Plaines, IL (July 7, 2010) — The American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) recently presented the Charles V. Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service award to recipients Christopher M. Gates, ARM, from San Bernardino, CA; Richard F. King, CSP, from Centennial, CO; James L. Weaver, CSP, from Kansas City, MO; Diana Cortez from Millwood, NY; Gregory L. Smith, CSP, from Austin, TX; and Linda Tapp, CSP, ALCM, from Amsterdam, the Netherlands for their ongoing volunteer work and commitment to protecting people, property and the environment. The awards were presented at ASSE’s annual Professional Development Conference (PDC), June 13-16, in Baltimore, MD.

The Charles V. Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service award is named after ASSE’s late vice president of communications. This award recognizes select members of the executive board, national committee members and practice specialty officers who have helped advance the occupational, safety, health and environmental profession through exemplary volunteer service to the Society during the past year.

Christopher M. Gates of San Bernardino, CA, has been a professional member of ASSE for nearly 25 years and serves as the Military Branch Chair. He has been involved in the Management Practice Specialty since 2006 and is also a member of the Business Safety Committee. Gates was recognized for his commitment to practice specialty recruitment efforts, outreach to potential members in all practice specialties.

Richard F. King of Centennial, CO, was recognized for his work as the chair of the ANSI/ASSE accredited A10 Committee for Construction and Demolition Operations. As Chair of the A10 ASC, King played a critical role in moving a series of the standards forward. King serves as the primary spokesperson for ASSE and the A10, has routinely presented at the PDC regarding A10 Standards and has dedicated significant amounts of professional and personal time to assist with technical articles, interviews, press statements and events for the positive benefit of ASSE and the A10 Committee.

James L. Weaver was recognized for chairing the 2009 House of Delegates Task Force and for his work as a member of ASSE’s Bylaws Committee, Nominations and Elections Committee and Council on Professional Development. He is a professional member of the Heart of America Chapter and a member of the Management Practice Specialty.

Linda M. Tapp, who currently resides in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, has been a professional member of ASSE since 1989 and chaired the first task force responsible for planning ASSE’s first virtual symposium, “Best in Class Safety Management.” Tapp was recognized for her work as the assistant administrator of the Manufacturing Practice Specialty and volunteer service with the Council on Professional Development and the Public Relations Committee. She is also a member of the Penn-Jersey Chapter and a member of the consultants, International, Management and Risk Management/Insurance Practice Specialties, the Service, Training and Communications branches, as well as the SPALW and WISE common interest groups.

Diana Cortez of Millwood, NY, was recognized for her involvement with the ASSE Common Interest Group Safety Professionals and the Latino Workforce (SPALW). Cortez is currently the Vice Chair of SPALW and since her involvement with the group she has produced several of the Spanish-language work/safety materials available through SPALW. Additionally, she was helpful when the U.S. Secretary of Labor, Hilda Solis, presented at Safety 2009 in San Antonio, TX. Cortez is currently the Director of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Tarrytown office, located in Westchester County, NY. She works with employer groups, associations and academic institutions to provide information and training for the improvement of working conditions and hazard reduction.

Gregory L. Smith is ASSE’s current Region III Vice President and serves on the council of Member and Region Affairs. He was recognized for his guidance to chapter officers and his involvement with the Gulf Coast Chapter and the Construction Practice Specialty and as one of the contributors to the Safety Professionals Handbook

Founded in 1911, the Des Plaines, IL-based ASSE is the largest and oldest professional safety organization and is committed to protecting people, property and the environment. Its more than 30,000 occupational safety, health and environmental professional members manage, supervise, research and consult on safety, health, transportation and environmental issues in all industries, government, labor and education. For more information check ASSE’s website at

Search Releases

Search our press release database.