Get to know your 2018 Society Election Candidates


The Nominations & Elections Committee is pleased to announce the preliminary Slate of Candidates for the 2018 Society election. Petition candidates have until January 1st to file completed petitions for inclusion on the March 1 ballot.

Those wishing to petition for a position on the ballot should notify the Nominations & Elections Committee Chair by sending an email by December 16th, to ASSE's Nominations & Elections Committee Staff Liaison, Kim McDowell (kmcdowell@asse.org). The email should specify the office for which they are petitioning. The petition process is outlined in the ASSE Bylaws and Society Operations Guide 6.31, Article II Petition Nomination & III Candidate Petition Notification Form: http://www.asse.org/about/sog-section-631.


The succession of candidates from Senior Vice President to President-Elect and President-Elect to President is automatic. Therefore, Rixio Medina and Diana Stegall will not appear on the actual ballot.


Rixio Medina, CSP, CPP

President Elect

Diana M Stegall, CSP, CFPS, ALCM, ARM, CPCU

Senior Vice President

Bradley Giles, P.E., CSP, STS, GIOSH

Vice President, Finance

C. Gary Lopez, M.S., CSP
Christine Sullivan CSP, ARM

Director – At – Large (Two will be elected)

Joel M. Haight, Ph.D., P.E., CSP, CIH
Thomas E. Kramer, P.E., CSP
Michael F. Murray
Pamela Walaski, CSP, CHMM


Vice President, Practices & Standards

Bernard C. McDonald, M.S., CSP, CIH, REM, CHMM
Gabriel Miehl, CSP, CFPS

Vice President – Professional Development

Todd William Loushine, Ph.D., P.E., CSP, CIH
David Natalizia


Region VI – Vice President

Julian D. Mercer, CSP, CRSP, CSHM
Michael A. Wolf, ASP


Region I: Area Director, Area 3

Thomas Logan, CSP, ARM
Georgette Quinn, OHST

Region III: Area Director, North Area

Denis M. Baker, CSP, ASP, CRIS
Stephanie L. Johnson, CSP, CHMM


Region V: Area Director, Area 1

Michael Saujani, CSP, ALCM, CPCU
Amy Timmerman, CSP, CHES


Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator - Construction

Brian A. Fennell, P.E., CSP, CET, STSC
Matthew B. Palmeri, CSP, CHST

Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator - Training & Communications

Marilyn Hubner, Ph.D
Howard Spencer, CSP, CHCM


Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator - Ergonomics

Winnie Ip, CPE
Rachel Michael, CPE, CHSP

Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator - Transportation

Michael T. Coleman, CSHM
Daniel J. O'Connell, CSP, CHMM, CET, CHST, CHCM


Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator - Industrial Hygiene

Wesley Lashbrook, MS, CSP, CIH
W. Doug Rush, CSP, CSP, CHMM


Women In Safety Engineering (WISE) Common Interest Group

Christina R. Roll, M.S., CSP
Margaret Smith, CSP


Nominations are still being accepted the following positions.

Regional Vice President - Region II
Regional Vice President – Region IV
Regional Vice President – Region VIII
Environmental Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator
Fire Protection Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator
Healthcare Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator
International Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator
Management Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator
Safety Professionals & the Latino Workforce (SPALW) Common Interest Group Assistant Administrator Region I Area Director - Area 1
Region II Area Director – Area A
Region IV Area Director – Alabama/Mississippi
Region IV Area Director – North Florida/Georgia
Region VI Area Director – Northern Area
Region VII Area Director - South Area
Region VIII Area Director – New England Area
Region VIII Area Director – Empire Area
Region IX Area Director - Area 2
Region IX Area Director - Area 3

Information on submitting for any of these positions is posted at http://www.asse.org/elections/2018. The final candidate slate will be published in January 2018.


Contact Us

Customer Service (M-F 8:30am - 5:00pm)
+1 847 699.2929


American Society of Safety Engineers
520 N. Northwest Hwy
Park Ridge, IL 60068